FAQ: What Does Htn Stand For?

Hypertension (HTN or HT), also known as high blood pressure (HBP), is a long-term medical condition in which the blood pressure in the arteries is persistently elevated. High blood pressure typically does not cause symptoms.

What does HTN mean?

1: abnormally high blood pressure and especially arterial blood pressure. 2: the systemic condition accompanying high blood pressure.

What does HTN and HLD mean in medical terms?

HTN = hypertension; HLD = hyperlipidemia; n = number; NL = normal; PVD = peripheral vascular disease, OWO = overweight and obese, and BMI = body mass index.

What is the official clinical definition of hypertension?

Medical Definition of Hypertension Hypertension: Also known as high blood pressure is, by definition, a repeatedly elevated blood pressure exceeding 140 over 90 mmHg — a systolic pressure above 140 or a diastolic pressure above 90. Chronic hypertension is a “silent” condition that does not have symptoms.

What does HPB stand for in medical terms?

HPB (Hepato-Pancreatico-Biliary) surgery is a subspecialty of surgery specific to benign and malignant diseases of the liver, pancreas and biliary tree. HPB surgery can be complex and requires specialized training and/or experience.

What does HCA mean in medical terms?

A healthcare assistant, also known as an HCA, plays a vital role in caring for people.

What does HX mean medically?

What does Hx mean? medical history, medical record, anamnesis (noun) the case history of a medical patient as recalled by the patient.

What are the JNC stages of HTN?

Subjects were classified according to the JNC VI criteria: normal (<130/<85 mm Hg); high-normal (130-139/85-89 mm Hg); stage 1 hypertension (140-159/90-99 mm Hg); or stage 2 or greater hypertension (≥160/≥100 mm Hg).

You might be interested:  Readers ask: Do You Have To Tip Curbside Check In?

What does it mean to have stage 1 hypertension?

Elevated blood pressure tends to get worse over time unless steps are taken to control blood pressure. Elevated blood pressure may also be called prehypertension. Stage 1 hypertension. Stage 1 hypertension is a systolic pressure ranging from 130 to 139 mm Hg or a diastolic pressure ranging from 80 to 89 mm Hg.

Is HTN hereditary?

Hypertension tends to run in families. Individuals whose parents have hypertension have an elevated risk of developing the condition, particularly if both parents are affected. However, the inheritance pattern is unknown. Rare, genetic forms of hypertension follow the inheritance pattern of the individual condition.

What are the 4 stages of hypertension?

Doctors classify blood pressure into four categories: normal, prehypertension (mild), stage 1 (moderate) and stage 2 (severe). Treatment depends on which category your pressure consistently falls in when readings are taken.

What are the four types of hypertension?

For 95 percent of people with high blood pressure, the cause of their hypertension is unknown — this is called essential, or primary, hypertension. Different Types of Hypertension

  • Isolated systolic hypertension.
  • Malignant hypertension.
  • Resistant hypertension.

Which is bad systolic or diastolic?

Both the high systolic and diastolic pressures are harmful; a diastolic pressure of more than 100 mm Hg and a systolic pressure of more than 160 mm Hg are associated with a significant incidence of strokes.