What Is The Level System In Hair Color?

The level system of hair color is a universal system used by colorists, cosmetologists, and hair color manufacturers to standardize hair color charts. Your level simply refers to how light or dark your hair color is—the lower the number, the darker the hair.

What is the color level system?

The level system is the lightness or darkness of your hair color. These numbers are generally from 1-10, but I have seen some color lines go up to 12. So it’s important to trust your hair stylist if she is using a number on you that may sound too light or dark compared to another stylist.

What is a level 7 hair color?

Level 7 is a term used for dark blonde hair, but it can also refer to some bright or light auburns/reds. It is common to find Level 7 shades in hair dye. Level 7 hair can be flattering on people whose natural hair color is from Level 4 to Level 10.

What are the 4 classifications of hair color?

The four most common classifications are permanent, demi-permanent (sometimes called deposit only), semi-permanent, and temporary.

What does Level 3 permanent mean in hair color?

Level 3 – permanent Permanent color products penetrate hair and stay inside the cortex, interacting with melanin, hairs natural pigment. They are able to cover grays up to 100%.

What is a Level 5 brown hair Colour?

Level 1 haircolor is black, level 2 haircolor is the second darkest black, 3 is brown/black, level 4 haircolor is dark brown, level 5 haircolor is light brown, level 6 haircolor is dark blond, level 7 haircolor is dark blond, level 8 haircolor is medium blond, 9 is light blond and 10 is white/platinum.

You might be interested:  What tv channel is the indianapolis 500 on?

What is a level 10 blonde?

Level 10 + above This level of hair is a light platinum blonde, with very little blonde/yellow tones if any; however as you get into the white blonde range of this level you can do just about any color in the world!

Which is darker 6N or 7N?

6N is darker than 7N.

Is 6 or 7 hair color darker?

Understanding Hair Colour Charts The level system is made up of 10 numbers which help determine the depth level of your natural hair. 1 is black, 5 is light brown, 6 is dark blonde, 7 is blonde and 10 is the lightest blonde.

What is a level 8 toner?

Tones can be warm (golden), cool (ashy), or neutral. When a hairstylist lightens hair to a level 8 (for example), they’ll probably have to use a toner to balance out the warm, brassy tones that are naturally present in darker hair. The toner is used to tweak the tone a little to a more desirable shade.

What are the different levels of hair color?

Hair level ranges from 1, true black, to 10, lightest blonde/pale yellow. Most hairstylists consider level 5 to be lightest brown, and 6 to be darkest blonde, while some color lines use 6 as the lightest brown.

What is the five general categories of hair coloring products?

Abstract: Hair color change by dye application is a common procedure among women. Hair dyes are classified, according to color resistance, into temporary, semipermanent, demipermanent and permanent.

What’s the difference between a tint and a semi?

The main difference is how the hair color react to your hair. Semi-permanent Tint sits on the outside of hair shaft and works as a coating over your hair serving as a glossy, glowing look for your hair.

You might be interested:  Question: Is A Person With Psychosis Dangerous?

What does 4A mean in hair color?

Type 4A hair is full of tight coils. It has an “S” pattern when stretched, much like Type 3 curly hair. Type 4B hair has a less defined pattern of curls and looks more like a “Z” as the hair bends with very sharp angles.

What is Level 6 hair color?

Level 6 Hair Color is another name for light brown hair. It is very common in box dye. Level 6 hair can also refer to bright shades of medium red hair. Most medium auburn shades are 5 or Level 6.

How do you know what level your hair is?

Your hair’s level is determined by how light or dark it is. Within each color family – coppers, blondes, browns, blacks, and grays – there are light, medium, and dark levels. For example, a person can have light blonde hair, medium blonde, or dark blonde.