Quick Answer: Is It Against The Law To Pump Your Own Gas In New Jersey?

Under the 1949 Retail Gasoline Dispensing Safety Act, pumping your own gas in New Jersey is unlawful. The statute, N.J.S.A. 34:3A:10, imposes penalties for violating the act and these consequences range from $50 to $250 fine for the first offense, and not to exceed $500 for each subsequent offense thereafter.

Why is pumping your own gas illegal in New Jersey?

The official ban on self-serve gas in Jersey began in 1949 with the Retail Gasoline Dispensing Safety Act, citing safety concerns like fire hazards.

Can you pump your own gas in New Jersey 2021?

New Jersey is one of two states where you can’t pump your own gas, and it has been that way since 1949. New Jersey prides itself on being able to offer its residents a full-service experience when they are at the pumps. That is a key reason behind the ban on self-service pumping.

What states don’t allow self-serve gas?

Oregon is one of two states that don’t allow customers to pump their own gas. (The other is New Jersey.) The law was first introduced in 1951, when many states had similar statutes and gas-station pumps had fewer safety measures.

What is the penalty for pumping your own gas in NJ?

Q: What is the penalty if you are caught pumping your own gas? A: We asked Thomas Wright, a spokesman for the state labor department, and he said violators face a fine that ranges between $50 and $250 for a first offense and fines up to $500 for subsequent offenses.

How many states is it illegal to pump your own gas?

In the United States, gas jockeys were often tipped for their services, but this is now rare as full-service stations are uncommon except in the states New Jersey and Oregon (counties with more than 40,000 residents), the town of Weymouth, Massachusetts, and the town of Huntington, New York, where retail customers are

You might be interested:  Does Burger King Have Play Area?

How old do you have to be to pump gas in New Jersey?

We verified there is no law preventing children younger than 16 from pumping gas. So, signs like the one Devetta saw are most likely intended to protect young children from getting hurt and protect stations from liability.

Should you tip gas station attendants?

Is one supposed to tip the attendant at full-service gas stations? Tipping is customary only if there are both full-serve and self-serve options at the station and the fuel is priced the same at both. These conditions aren’t frequently met, so no tipping required.

When did pumping your own gas start?

1947: Frank Urich opens the first modern self-serve gas station at the corner of Jilson and Atlantic in Los Angeles, California. With the slogan “Save 5 cents, serve yourself, why pay more?”

Why do some states not allow you to pump your own gas?

Pumping your own gasoline was believed to be a fire hazard. Therefore, not long after, Huntington passed a city-wide regulation that would require gas retailers to offer full-service pumps. Any driver who is caught fueling their own vehicle would experience the repercussions of heavy fine payments.

Why does New Jersey smell so bad?

Why does the Jersey Shore smell? The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection says it’s the result of an algae bloom spotted offshore within the past day from Manasquan inlet to the Seaside Area and that it poses no health risks to humans. “All of the algae ends up drying up on the beach,” Kuriscak said.