Quick Answer: What Is Lumbosacral Plexus?

The lumbosacral plexus is a network of nerves derived from lumbar and sacral roots with each one of them dividing into anterior and posterior branches. The anterior branches supply the flexor muscles of thigh and leg and posterior branches supply the extensor and abductor muscles.

What is the function of the lumbosacral plexus?

It is created from lumbar spinal nerves L2, L3, and L4. Its principal function is to supply motor and sensory innervation to the anterior compartment of the thigh. The nerve exits the plexus and enters the femoral triangle, passing just lateral to the femoral artery.

Where is lumbosacral plexus?

The lumbosacral plexus is formed by the anterior rami of the nerves (spinal segments T12–S4) to supply the lower limbs. The lumbosacral plexus can be divided into the lumbar plexus, which innervates the ventral upper half, and the sacral plexus, which mainly innervates the dorsal side.

What causes lumbar plexus pain?

The most frequent causes are high-energy trauma, sports injuries, penetrating trauma, and surgery that results in damage to the plexus. In particular, injuries that cause damage between the spinal cord and spinal ganglion (proximal) lead to severe pain.

What is a lumbosacral plexus MRI?

MRI of a normal lumbosacral plexus demonstrates symmetric caliber and signal intensity of the exiting nerve roots. MRI of a normal lumbosacral plexus demonstrates symmetric caliber and signal intensity of the exiting nerve roots.

What does the Genitofemoral nerve do?

The genitofemoral nerve supplies sensation via the femoral branch and motor innervation via the genital branch. The cremasteric reflex is a function of genitofemoral nerve innervation, as it supplies sensation to the superior medial aspect of the thigh.

You might be interested:  FAQ: How Much Is Artificial Turf For Dogs?

What are lumbosacral lesions?

Lesion of the lumbosacral plexus by lumbar disc degeneration leads to a lumbosacral radicular syndrome. This syndrome is characterized by a radiating pain in one or more lumbar or sacral nerve dermatomes and decreased motor function. Sometimes, it may be regarded as sciatica, ischias, or nerve root pain [49].

What happens if the lumbar plexus is damaged?

Malfunction of the lumbosacral plexus causes pain in the lower back and leg as well as weakness and loss of sensation in all or part of a leg (such as the foot or calf).

What area of the body is affected by the lumbar plexus?

Lumbar plexus: Back, abdomen, groin, thighs, knees, calves. Sacral plexus: Pelvis buttocks, genitals, thighs, calves, feet. Coccygeal plexus: A small region over the coccyx (your “tailbone”)2

How long does a lumbar plexus MRI take?

Your MRI scan will take approximately 30-40 minutes.

What nerves are in the cauda equina?

The cauda equina (from Latin horse’s tail) is a bundle of spinal nerves and spinal nerve rootlets, consisting of the second through fifth lumbar nerve pairs, the first through fifth sacral nerve pairs, and the coccygeal nerve, all of which arise from the lumbar enlargement and the conus medullaris of the spinal cord.

What is a MRI spine lumbar and sacral?

A lumbar MRI specifically examines the lumbar section of your spine — the region where back problems commonly originate. The lumbosacral spine is made up of the five lumbar vertebral bones (L1 thru L5), the sacrum (the bony “shield” at the bottom of your spine), and the coccyx (tailbone).