Often asked: Tokyo sits on which japanese island?

What Japanese island is Tokyo on?

The Greater Tokyo Area is the most populous metropolitan area in the world. It is the seat of the Emperor of Japan and the Japanese government. Tokyo is in the Kanto region on the southeastern side of the main island Honshu and includes the Izu Islands and Ogasawara Islands.

What is another name for Honshu?


Native name: 本州
Highest point Mount Fuji
Prefectures show Tōhoku show Kantō show Chūbu show Kansai show Chūgoku

What is Honshu famous for?

Honshu contains Japan’s highest mountain, Mount Fuji, and its largest lake, Lake Biwa.

What are the 4 islands of Japan?

Along with Hokkaido, Honshu, and Kyushu, Shikoku is one of the four main islands that make up the Japanese archipelago. The smallest of those islands, it comprises the four prefectures Tokushima Prefecture, Kagawa Prefecture, Ehime Prefecture, and Kochi Prefecture.

What are the 4 largest islands in Japan?

Although many of these are small and uninhabited, Japan is most known for its 4 largest islands. These islands are considered the country’s mainland and consist of Honshu, Hokkaido, Kyushu, and Shikoku.

Is Tokyo the biggest city in the world?

As of 2018, Tokyo is still the world’s largest city with 37 million inhabitants, but it’s growth has plateaued and is projected to begin declining around 2020, while Delhi continues the ascend to become the most populous city in the world in 2028.

How far is Honshu from Tokyo?

The distance between Tokyo and Honshū Island is 163 km. The road distance is 221.2 km.

You might be interested:  How cold does boston get?

How many KU are in Tokyo?

Tokyo is a regional government encompassing 23 special wards, 26 cities, 5 towns and 8 villages.

How far across is Japan?

Japan – Location, size, and extent

It extends 3,008 km (1,869 mi) NE – SW and 1,645 km (1,022 mi) SE – NW and has a total coastline of 29,751 km (18,486 mi).

What does Shikoku mean in Japanese?

Shikoku (四国, literally “four provinces”) is one of the five main islands of Japan. Shikoku is the second-smallest main island after Okinawa.

What is the original name of Japan?

The name for Japan in Japanese is written using the kanji 日本 and pronounced Nippon or Nihon. Before it was adopted in the early 8th century, the country was known in China as Wa (倭) and in Japan by the endonym Yamato.

What covers 70% of Japan’s land surface?

About 73 percent of Japan’s area is mountainous, and scattered plains and intermontane basins (in which the population is concentrated) cover only about 27 percent.

What is Japan’s oldest religion?


  • Shinto, also known as kami-no-michi, (Japanese: 神道) is a religion which originated in Japan.
  • Shinto is polytheistic and revolves around the kami (“gods” or “spirits”), supernatural entities believed to inhabit all things.

What is the smallest Japanese island?

Shikoku, island, the smallest of the four main islands of Japan. It is separated from Honshu by the Inland Sea (north) and the Kii Strait (east) and from Kyushu by the Bungo Strait (west). The island is divided into the prefectures of Ehime, Kagawa, Kōchi, and Tokushima.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: How many people lived in ancient athens?

Does Japan have 4 or 5 main islands?

Japan, which extends roughly 4000 km from northeast to southwest along the northeastern coast of the Eurasia mainland, comprises five main islands, Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, Kyushu, and Okinawa, with countless “rito” – remote (or small) islands.