When is the next presidential election in mexico

How often does Mexico elect a president?

Elections in Mexico are held every 6 years to elect a president and every 2 years to elect a legislature.

Who is running for president in Mexico?


Candidate Votes
Andrés Manuel López Obrador 30,113,483
Ricardo Anaya 12,610,120
José Antonio Meade 9,289,853
Jaime Rodríguez Calderón 2,961,732

Which party is in power in Mexico?

Institutional Revolutionary Party

Institutional Revolutionary Party Partido Revolucionario Institucional
Seats in State legislatures 184 / 1,123
Politics of Mexico Political parties Elections

Can the president of Mexico be re elected?

Another legacy of the Mexican Revolution is the Constitution’s ban on re-election. Mexican presidents are limited to a single six-year term, called a sexenio. No one who has held the post, even on a caretaker basis, is allowed to run or serve again.

How many presidents did Mexico have?

58 presidents

Does Mexico have Vice President?

The office of Vice President of Mexico was created by the Constitution of 1824, and was finally abolished by the current Constitution of 1917.

How is the Senate elected in Mexico?

In a senatorial race, each party nominates two candidates who run and are elected together by direct vote.

Is Mexico a one party state?

The Politics of Mexico take place in a framework of a federal presidential representative democratic republic whose government is based on a congressional system, whereby the President of Mexico is both head of state and head of government, and of a multi-party system.

What is the government like in Mexico?

Republic Presidential system Federal republic Constitutional republic

When did Mexico become a democracy?

While the Revolution and the Constitution of 1917 established a democratic system to replace Diaz’s dictatorship, coups and corruption continued in the two decades following the Revolution.

You might be interested:  When is daylight savings time in mexico

Does Mexico have term limits?

Sexenio is the popular term for the term limit on the President of Mexico. The president is limited to a single six-year term, and no one who holds the office even on a caretaker basis is permitted to run for or hold the office again. Mexico