How do I transfer my drivers license to Washington state?
What You’ll Do to Transfer your Out-of-State Driver License to Washington
- Submit the required documents & ID.
- Pass the vision test.
- Surrender your out-of-state driver’s license.
- Have your photo taken.
- Submit payment.
- Receive a temporary driver’s license.
What documents do I need to get a Washington state driver’s license?
Proof of U.S. citizenship (e.g., a valid U.S. passport or U.S. Certificate of Citizenship) Proof of your identity (e.g., a valid driver’s license or passport) Proof of a valid Social Security number (e.g., a Social Security card or W-2 with your SSN) Proof of Washington state residency.
What counts as proof of residency in Washington state?
Examples of acceptable documents include home utility bills or hook-up work order dated within 60 days of the time you apply for a license (gas, electricity, water, garbage, or telephone), Washington instruction permits or ID cards, or Washington voter registration cards.
How much does a driver license cost in Washington state?
A standard driver’s license or I.D. card costs $54. An enhanced driver’s license or I.D. card will cost $78.
Can you get your driver’s license online in Washington state?
You can finish this process online or in-person at a licensing office. Online licensing is restricted to those who’ve held an instruction permit and haven’t had any violations, suspensions, or revocations.
Do I have to take a drivers test if I move to Washington State?
Does a Washington DMV change of address require a driving test? No, just a vision test.
Can you register a car without a drivers license in Washington state?
A law goes into effect Sunday intended to help address a problem that’s long plagued Southwest Washington: new residents who fail to register their out-of-state vehicles. In Washington, residents are required to obtain a driver’s license and register their vehicle within 30 days of moving to the state.
How long does it take to get a driver’s license in Washington?
The official driver’s license will be mailed to you within 7-10 days. If you don’t receive your new driver’s license within 30 days, please return to the DOL.
Can you fly without an enhanced ID?
Yes, your enhanced driver’s license is acceptable for domestic air travel. Under the federal REAL ID law, Michigan residents must show a REAL ID-compliant document when flying in the United States beginning Oct. 1, 2021. For that, you‘ll need an enhanced license or ID card.
How can I prove residency without utilities?
If you don’t have any utility bills, you can still prove your residency through other means. You can use a combination of your license, tax documents, bank statements, lease agreements, and other official paperwork. The essential factor is that the form of proof shows your address and name.
Do I have to get an enhanced driver’s license in Washington state?
The enhanced driver license or ID card is optional. A valid U.S. passport or U.S. passport card, military ID, or other federally approved identification can be used to board a domestic flight or enter certain federal facilities.
What works as proof of residency?
Examples of acceptable documents to prove California residency are: rental or lease agreements with the signature of the owner/landlord and the tenant/resident, deeds or titles to residential real property, mortgage bills, home utility bills (including cellular phone), and medical or employee documents.
Is it worth getting an enhanced driver’s license?
The enhanced driver’s license is a cost-effective and convenient document that meets driving, identification and border-crossing needs. While not required, the enhanced license is an excellent alternative to a standard license because it is especially handy for business travel, vacations or quick trips.
How long do I have to live in Washington to be a resident?
In order to be considered a resident for tuition purposes, you (or your parent/legal guardian, if you are financially dependent) must have established domicile in Washington for at least one year prior to the first day of the quarter in which you are requesting residency.
How does a homeless person get ID in Washington state?
Clients who work with the state Department of Social and Human Services (DSHS) can fill out a form to get the cards at cost for $5, but the form has to be filled out by a caseworker proving that the client receives services.